Home » News & Updates » First Details of Bob Dylan’s Upcoming Album ‘Tempest’

First Details of Bob Dylan’s Upcoming Album ‘Tempest’

Album includes a tribute to John Lennon and a song about the sinking of the Titanic


Bob Dylan has revealed more information about his upcoming album Tempest, including cover art and the track listing. It’s his 35th studio album. 

The album contains 10 songs, including a John Lennon tribute entitled “Roll on John,” which quotes lines from multiple Beatles songs, including “Come together right now” from “Come Together” and “I heard the news today, oh boy” from “A Day in the Life.” The title track is a 14-minute epic about the sinking of the Titanic, which actually refers to a scene from James Cameron’s 1997 film Titanic at one point. The chorus of another standout track, “Pay in Blood,” includes the line, “I’ll pay in blood, but not my own.” 

Tempest arrives in stores on September 11th, 11 years to the day after the release of Dylan’s 2001, LP Love and Theft.  

Here is the full track listing for Tempest:

“Duquesne Whistle”
“Soon After Midnight”
“Narrow Way”
“Long and Wasted Years”
“Pay in Blood”
“Scarlet Town”
“Early Roman Kings”
“Tin Angel”
“Roll on John”


Southern Skies Motel by Farfetch'd

  • August 28th, 2016 Ben Goldstein & Unohu in Pune at High Spirits
  • August 28th, 2016 Tribute to Michael Jackson by Arjun & the Teenage Men in Pune at High Spirits
  • August 28th, 2016 2Stroke Tour ft Goddess Gagged, Lucid Recess, Dark Carnage in Guwahati at Terra Mayaa
  • August 28th, 2016 Metal Night ft. Abraxas, Passages, Adamantium, Orcus in Mumbai at Hard Rock Cafe (Worli)
  • August 28th, 2016 Covelong Point Festival ft Bombay Bassment, Filter Coffee and more in Kovalam at Covelong Point Festival

Coming Soon
Rolling Stone India
© 2016 Rolling Stone India. All Rights Reserved.