Type to search

Artists Home Flashbox K-pop Music New Music News & Updates Videos

5 New Korean Releases You Need To Have On Your Radar

We’re digging new music from Victon, (G)I-DLE, Stray Kids and more

Riddhi Chakraborty Jan 17, 2021
Share this:

“What I Said” by Victon

Victon finally dropped their first LP VOICE : The Future Is Now earlier this week led by the single “What I Said.” The track is victorious, dynamic and about breaking through barriers to achieve one’s dream. The instrumentals feature blends of Latin trap and synth pop, highlighted by a powerful brass section layered throughout. The music video is sleek and luxurious, almost otherworldly with fantastical sets for each individual member. Rapper Hanse especially stuns with his rapid and fiery rap verses.

“Maknae On Top” by I.N feat. Bang Chan and Changbin of Stray Kids

The maknae (aka youngest member) of Stray Kids, I.N, finds his artistic color in this playful and confident self-produced track. I.N brags about being “the real big shot in Stray Kids” and having his older members, Bang Chan and Changbin, spoil him and cater to his every whim. The endearing music video is filled with Stray Kids Easter eggs, baby photos of I.N and other hilarious call backs. The upbeat Latin trap track was written and produced by all three members. 

“Hwaa” by (G)I-DLE

The South Korean girl group deliver a gorgeous lead single off their latest EP I Burn. Written and composed by (G)I-DLE’s leader Soyeon, the dark and dreamy synth-pop number is an anthem about moving on from painful memories: “Take away the lonely cold/ The remaining poems step on the flower path/ It will release the cold, enjoy spring again/ All memories become fire or fertilizer/ Brilliant flowers bloom.” The music video (reminiscent of their 2020 hit single “Oh My God”) moves from cold blues and whites to fiery red as the members embrace their own strength and ability to move past the trials of life. 

Also See  Hear Bhilwara Hip-Hop Artist Luck’s Turn As Loverboy on ‘Mistake’

“Dangerous” by E’LAST

This seven member rookie group cement their position as a rising act in fourth generation K-pop with “Dangerous.” The track is the follow up to their emotional 2020 November single “Tears Of Chaos” and takes a more fierce route with hard trap, EDM breakdowns and confident rap verses. The music video features powerful choreography and tight formations complemented by the members’ outstanding stage presence that makes it hard to believe they’re rookies. 

“Asurabalbalta” by T1419

With “Asurabalbalta” being of the most anticipated debut tracks of the year, T1419 don’t hesitate give it everything they’ve got. The nine member rookie group declare their arrival on the K-pop scene with confidence and aggression, stating this is their one shot to the top and they won’t falter because of their passion for performance: “In a messy world/ Find the way straight/ This is My navigation/ Do it until you get hurt/ Do it until your eyes are closed.” The track is an EDM and hip-hop blend, allowing the group to unleash their skills in choreography and rap. 

Share this:

You Might also Like