Type to search

Artists Home Flashbox K-pop Music New Music News & Updates Videos

DAY6 (Even of Day) Come to Terms with Unrequited Love in ‘Right Through Me’

South Korean band DAY6’s sub-unit comprising Wonpil, Young K and Dowoon, release their second EP ‘Right Through Me’

Divyansha Dongre Jul 05, 2021
Share this:

Serving a follow-up to the sub-unit’s August 2020 debut EP, The Book of Us: Gluon- Nothing Can Tear Us Apart, DAY6 (Even of Day) make their highly-anticipated comeback with Right Through Me and its lead single of the same name.

Documenting a tearful goodbye and harrowing realities of heartbreak, members Young K, Wonpil, and Dowoon take the opportunity to sing about the futile attempts at salvaging an empty relationship. Written by Young K and composed by Young K, Wonpil, and JYPE Entertainment’s in-house producer Hong Ji Sang,”Right Through Me ” matches the emotions of the track by fusing Nineties-inspired hip-hop and pop ballads. 

With a high contrast color palette and neon lighting, the music video sees all three members convey loneliness, loss, and confusion through emotive expressions. Bassist Young K kicks off the music video looking numb and desolate as he sings, “Sadness was hanging over/ Those slouched shoulders/ I cautiously ask if you’re okay/ The only answer is silence.” The track then proceeds to document the effects of unrequited love, despite the numerous efforts put in to repair the relationship.

The music video concludes on a promising note, as the lyrics show signs of acceptance and willingness to move on, “So I guess/ Now I’ve got to go/This is the end of my love.” The sub-unit communicates this visually with Young K breaking through a glass window, almost as if he’s making an attempt to break free from the shackles of the relationship.

Also See  Goa Singer-Songwriter Earl Fortes Releases Breezy New Single ‘Laid Back’

Right Through Me, the seven-track EP by Day6 (Even of Day) embodies a message of hope and love through tracks, “We,” “Walk,” “All The Things You Wanted,” “From The Ending Of a Tragedy,” “Home Alone,” “Love Parade” and the title track, “Right Through Me.”

Share this:

You Might also Like