Type to search

News & Updates

Dr. Dre Details Long-Awaited ‘Compton: A Soundtrack’

Rapper also reveals the fate of ‘Detox’: “It just wasn’t good”

Daniel Kreps Aug 03, 2015

The rumors are true: Dr. Dre will release a new album in the near future. The rapper took to his Beats 1 radio show The Pharmacy to confirm reports of a Straight Outta Compton soundtrack produced by Dre as well as additional details regarding Dre’s first LP since 1999’s 2001. During Saturday’s “Countdown to Compton” episode, Dre revealed that Compton: A Soundtrack will arrive on August 7th exclusively on iTunes and Apple Music. Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg, the Game and many more will feature on the 16-track LP, which can be preordered here.

“During principal photography, I felt myself going to the studio and being so inspired by the movie that I started recording an album,” Dre said on The Pharmacy. “I kept it under wraps, and now the album is finished. It’s bananas. It’s an ‘inspired by’ album. It’s inspired by Straight Outta Compton, we’re gonna call the album Compton: The Soundtrack. I’m really proud of this.” Dre also called the album his “grand finale.”

Dre also revealed why he never released his long-delayed Detox: “It just wasn’t good.” “This is something you’re not gonna hear many artists say. The reason Detox didn’t come out was because I didn’t like it. It wasn’t good,” Dre admitted. “I’m gonna keep it all the way one-thousand with you, seriously. I worked my ass off on it, I don’t think I did a good enough job, and I couldn’t do that to my fans and I couldn’t do that to myself, to be perfectly honest with you. I just wasn’t feeling it.”

Also See  Dr. Dre Advises Rihanna to Tap ‘Right Creative People’ for Super Bowl Halftime

On The Pharmacy, Dre was joined by Ice Cube and Straight Outta Compton director F. Gary Gray to discuss the N.W.A biopic and its much-anticipated soundtrack.

During the episode, Cube and Dre reminisced about first meeting in high school in 1983 or 1984 (“You’re showing our age,” Dre quipped) and how they bonded over their “mutual love of hip-hop.” “It just grew from there into this crazy, life-changing relationship,” Dre said of his friendship with Ice Cube. The N.W.A pair also talked about growing up in Compton and the biopic itself.

Ice Cube appeared on Philadelphia’s Power 99 Wednesday morning and let slip the news about Dre’s Straight Outta Compton soundtrack. While Cube gave an August 1st release date for the album, multiple sources told Rolling Stone that the album will be released at a later date than Saturday, which is ultimately when Dre confirmed the record. “It’s mega. It’s Dr. Dre, it’s what everybody’s been waiting for,” Ice Cube told the Rise & Grind Morning Show. “It’s definitely a dope record, and he’s dropping it all on the same day.”

During a March 2015 radio interview, Dre first revealed that he was working on a soundtrack for Straight Outta Compton. “I’m working on something right now. I don’t want to put it out there just yet and say that I’m definitely gonna put it out. But I’m really feeling what I’m working on right now,” Dre said. “This would be a record that’s inspired by the movie.” Straight Outta Compton hits theaters August 14th.

Also See  K-drama Flashback: 12 Classic K-Pop Music Videos Featuring K-Drama Actors

Compton: A Soundtrack Track List:

1. “Intro”
2. “Talk About It” (feat. King Mez & Justus)
3. “Genocide” (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
4. “It’s All On Me” (feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)
5. “All In a Day’s Work” (feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
6. “Darkside/Gone” (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
7. “Loose Cannons” (feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
8. “Issues” (feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
9. “Deep Water” (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10. Jon Connor – “One Shot One Kill” (feat. Snoop Dogg)
11. The Game – “Just Another Day” (feat. Asia Bryant)
12. “For the Love of Money” (feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13. “Satisfiction” (feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14. “Animals” (feat. Anderson Paak)
15. “Medicine Man” (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16. “Talking to My Diary”


You Might also Like