Type to search

Artists Home Flashbox Music New Music News & Updates

Fresh Indie Fridays

Hear new releases from independent acts

David Britto Jun 04, 2021

Scroll down to hear new music on Fresh Indie Fridays by indie artists (clockwise from left) Mr. Keenan, Sick Society, Bérod and Root Murphy. Photos: Courtesy of Nrtya; Ronald Sidharth; Courtesy of the artist; Shriya Tomar

Share this:

Mr. Keenan – UltraCasual

Recently, Mumbai-based bassist and producer Keenan Thomas aka Mr. Keenan put together a few of the beats and sonic explorations he’s created between 2016 till now, in the shape of a brand new 25-track beat tape titled UltraCasual. The record includes electronica tunes, indie-rock offerings, groovy and funky bass hooks, lo-fi selections, ambient vibes and more.

Sick Society – ECSTATIC

Bengaluru/Kerala six-piece alt-rock outfit Sick Society released their five-track debut EP Weird Relay last year and have now followed it up with a brand-new record, the seven-track ECSTATIC. On the fresh batch of songs, the band – vocalist Kiran Paul, drummer Abin Thej, guitarist Hari Krishnan PV and keyboardist Ruthin Thej – showcase heavy rock offerings (“Hopeless,” “Mesmerize” and “Annoy”), ballads (“Rainy Day” and “Ecstatic”) and also include two versions of their song “The One” on the record.

Root Murphy – “Butterflies” and “Fictive”

New Delhi psych-rock duo Root Murphy, comprising vocalist-guitarist Amlan Nayar and drummer Vishwam Raghunandan, are back with new songs off stack two from their piecemeal album Kinetophone. The latest offerings include the spacey butterflies and introspective “Fictive.” There are two more tracks, “One Stop” and “Citra,” to follow later this month and round off stack two. The band will then look ahead to the third and fourth installments of Kinetophone.

Bérod – Impermanence

Last month, Goa-based producer and songwriter Darren D’Souza aka Bérod dropped his debut three-track EP Impermanence. According to the artist, the record “weaves together narratives of isolation and growth; disillusion and belief; stillness and chaos.” The EP opens with the contemplative “Rectify” before we hear the poignant “Bereaved” as the record closes with the blissful “Heaven.”

Also See  Fresh Indie Fridays

Share this:

You Might also Like