Type to search

Artists Home Flashbox Music New Music News & Updates Videos

Global Artists Spotlight: DANA, Siena Bjorn, International Nova And More

Hear new tunes by musicians from across the world

This week's Global Artists Spotlight features musicians (from left) DANA, Siena Bjorn, International Nova and more. Photos: Courtesy of the artists

Share this:

Siena Bjorn – “Indigo”

American jazz-soaked soul/pop artist Sena Bjorn delivers a mellifluous new earworm titled “Indigo.” Laced with silky production and Bjorn’s lush vocals, the track is quite infectious. Thematically, the song is about “the fear of letting go and giving in, the fear of letting someone in and how shame can be debilitating and as much as you want to hate the other person for what they did to you. You inevitably have a part to play in your own demise,” the singer-songwriter explains.

DANA – “Undefined”

Swiss singer-songwriter DANA recently released the second single, the ambient “Undefined,” off her forthcoming full-length debut album. As the song features DANA’s staple poignant vocals, it also features dynamic transitions. According to the artist, the track speaks about the emotions surrounding being caught up in a love story with someone where the definition isn’t so clear.

International Nova – “Controla” feat. Petey Pablo

Atlanta-based Latin artist International Nova’s latest collaboration with musician Petey Pablo on “Controla” is a track best heard for beach party sundowner. Filled with dancey elements as well as catchy melodies, the song is sure to make you move.

Jessie Murph – “Look Who’s Crying Now”

U.S.-based singer-songwriter Jessie Murph delivers quite a moody rock offering on her track “Look Who’s Crying Now.” Co-written with the likes of songwriters Charles Roberts Nelson, Danny Majic, Kyle Buckley and Madi Yanofsky, the song features Murph’s quickfire and soaring vocal delivery.

Ronnie Watts – “car ride home”

American singer-songwriter Ronnie Watts creates the soundtrack for midnight joyrides on her new single “car ride home.” Filled with emotive piano playing, Watts sings about coming to terms with her relationship’s demise on the heart-breaking ballad.

Also See  Perspectives: Artists on Art, Survival and Relief During the Pandemic

Dawn Chorus – “Modern Being”

Salt Lake City atmospheric indie rock trio Dawn Chorus gets energetic on their new single “Modern Being.” There’s plenty of dextrous instrumentation along with a psychedelic vibe throughout the track. In a statement, the band said, “The core of this song came together the day Trump was defeated, it has a celebratory feel.”

ELUNIA – “Pressure Points”

New Hampshire-based singer-songwriter ELUNIA gets introspective on her genre-bending single “Pressure Points.” According to the artist, the new song speaks of the fear of losing someone you adore. She says, “It’s not like someone is outright saving you, but more that they’re just existing in the right places and the right ways, and it’s really subtle, but that makes it all the more powerful.”

Ships Have Sailed – “Take My Money”

American indie-pop duo Ships Have Sailed delivers a cheeky response to society’s obsession with being connected on devices with their new saccharine single “Take My Money.” The track includes a groovy beat as well as catchy vocals.

Charm of Finches – “Gravity”

Australian indie-folk duo Charm of Finches showcase their magical harmonies on their pensive new song “Gravity.” The song also features cello, harp and violin parts that create a smooth and stripped-down sonic experience. According to the artists, the song reflects on the many dangers of “toxic positivity.”

Catbells – “Fade (Rainy Day Demo)”

New England-bred dreamy melancholic shoegaze meets alt-pop singer-songwriter Catbells recently released a vulnerable soul-bearing tribute to her lost love on “Fade (Rainy Day Demo).” Through the moody song, Catbells confronts her deep-seated feelings of grief, longing, and pain. She says, “The song really wrote itself and the music needed to match the feeling of how the words felt.”

Also See  #RSDailyMusic: Here’s What We’re Listening to Today

Egg Drop Soup – “Or Durves”

Los Angeles all-women trio Egg Drop Soup take the irreverence of punk up a notch on their fast-paced new tune “Or Durves.” Releasing music since 2018, Egg Drop Soup comprises bassist and vocalist Samantha Westervelt (who also directed and shot the sock puppet-filled music video), guitarist-vocalist Olivia Saperstein and drummer Bailey Chapman and “Or Durves” allows them to address what happens when you get fired from a big corporate job.

Mdou Moctar – Afrique Victime

Tuareg guitarist and songwriter Mdou Moctar wows the world once again with his latest album Afrique Victime. Jamming around psychedelic and distinctly African guitar melodies which flitter and fire off in several directions, the nine-track record is expansive and heady all at once, even allowing for acoustic excursions. Signed to Matador Records and heading out on a North America tour later this year, followed by a run of shows through Europe in 2022, Moctar and his band have risen spectacularly.

Boy Willows – “Tuff”

Previously hitting bullseye with his affable track “Fila” with actor-artist Dylan Minnette, Maryland-bred Boy Willows aka Landon Fleischman has a more humorous but heartfelt offering called “Tuff,” touching upon bravado and trying to prove one’s strength. “At the core, it’s vulnerable and honest and you hear that at the end; it’s just covered in a big fake shield of muscle,” he says. The song is supplied with a hilarious VHS-filtered visual story that seemingly borrows from Rocky as it does cheesy Hollywood flicks.

Share this:

You Might also Like