Type to search

Artists Home Flashbox Music New Music News & Updates Videos

Gorillaz Detail First Album in Six Years, ‘Humanz’

Damon Albarn, Jamie Hewitt premiere wild “Saturn Barz” video with snippets of other new songs

Jon Blistein Mar 24, 2017
Share this:


Gorillaz will release their first album in six years, Humanz, April 28th. Mastermind Damon Albarn premiered two new songs from the record ”“ “Andromeda” featuring D.R.A.M. and “Saturn Barz” with Popcaan ”“ on MistaJam’s BBC Radio 1 show.

On “Andromeda” (which begins at the 2:20 mark) Albarn croons softly over a swift dance beat laced with spacey synths while D.R.A.M. turns up for a quick but playful guest appearance. “Saturnz Barz” (at 10:30) captures a similar aesthetic with Albarn filtering his vocals through static and Jamaican artist Popcaan delivering a sinister verse over a guttural rumble sprinkled with siren-like synth flares.

Gorillaz also unveiled a video for “Saturn Barz” that includes snippets of “Andromeda” and album cuts “Ascension” with Vince Staples and “We Got the Power” with Jehnny Beth from Savages. The Jamie Hewlett-directed clip finds the animated outfit exploring a haunted house with fittingly surreal and bizarre results (a 360-degree virtual reality version of the video is also available).

The 14-track Humanz marks Gorillaz first album since 2010’s The Fall and boasts an impressive list of guests that includes Mavis Staples, Grace Jones, Pusha T, Danny Brown, Kelela, De La Soul, Kali Uchis, Jamie Principle, Anthony Hamilton, Peven Everett and Zebra Katz. The deluxe edition of the record will boast appearances from Kilo Kish, Peven Everett and even Carly Simon. Humanz will also include the previously released track, “Hallelujah Money,” with Benjamin Clementine.

Also See  Breaking Down the 4Z4DI Merger Between Companies Azadi Records and 4/4 Experiences

Gorillaz Humanz Track List

1. “Ascension” feat. Vince Staples
2. “Strobelite” feat. Peven Everett
3. “Saturnz Barz” feat. Popcaan
4. “Momentz” feat. De La Soul
5. “Submission” feat. Danny Brown & Kelela
6. “Charger” feat. Grace Jones
7. “Andromeda” feat. D.R.A.M.
8. “Busted and Blue”
9. “Carnival” feat. Anthony Hamilton
10. “Let Me Out” feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T
11. “Sex Murder Party” feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz
12. “She’s My Collar” feat. Kali Uchis
13. “Hallelujah Money” feat. Benjamin Clementine
14. “We Got The Power” feat. Jehnny Beth

Watch the video for “Saturnz Barz” below:


Share this: