Type to search

Home Flashbox New Music News & Updates

Hear Producers OX7GEN, Oceantied, Daisuke Tanabe and More Shine on New Compilation

Mumbai music agency Krunk open new innings with record label Krunk Kulture’s first release ‘Kaala Khatta’

Anurag Tagat Aug 28, 2020

Bengaluru-based producer Oceantied aka Ketan Bahirat. Photo: Tanisha Thyagarajan

Share this:

Spurred into action as a result of the coronavirus pandemic wiping out most event and gig opportunities, Mumbai electronic music agency Krunk have launched a new label called Krunk Kulture this month.

The inaugural release comes in the form of a sublime compilation featuring 15 producers from around the globe, named Kaala Khatta as a reference to the distinctly Indian flavor that goes over street food like crushed ice/gola.

The 15-track album is subtitled as “Flavours of the East.” A statement explains, “Flavours Of The East is a tribute to the integral ingredients that continue to shape the identity and perspectives of our collective homeland. This is an investigation into the memories and markers of a culture that is bursting at the seams with what it has to say.”

Bringing forward entirely fresh tunes are the likes of Bengaluru producer Oceantied aka Ketan Bahirat, with a hypnotic, unrelenting beat-driven song called “Shadows,” Mumbai producer Zokhuma aka Armaan Menzies with a slick tune called “Casper’s Ghost” and OX7GEN aka Aditya Ashok’s steadily built banger “Blitzz” to close things off. Elsewhere, Shillong duo adL x kly open Kaala Khatta with a formidable hip-hop leaning track “Vivid Drmz” and Mumbai’s Kini Rao offers an ominous yet uplifting piano-centric song called “Rainbow Runner.”

Also See  Bandcamp Friday: Artists Supporting Covid-19 Relief, Ambient, Indie Rock and More

Producer and graphic artist Moebius aka Nikunj Patel (who also created the look for Kaala Khatta) goes the dancefloor-friendly way on “Neelam,” but the compilation also calls on two seasoned producers including Krunk founder Sohail Arora who’s put out a track under the moniker Rafiki, while his fellow producer Kris Correya (both part of electronic music group Bay Beat Collective) offers nostalgic synth lines and busy beats on “Broken Drive.”

International producers on the compilation include New York-based Suchi, Japanese DJ-producer Daisuke Tanabe who infuses tabla on “Tablasuke,” Atlanta-based Nikki Nair and Kathmandu’s YNZN.P.

Listen to ‘Kaala Khatta’ below. The compilation is out on all streaming platforms on September 2nd.

Share this: