Type to search

Home Flashbox News & Updates

MTV VMAs 2016: The Complete Winners List

The full rundown of who won what on one of the industry’s biggest nights

Rolling Stone Aug 29, 2016
Share this:

Rihanna received the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award at the MTV Video Music Awards 2016.

With all the memorable performances during the Video Music Awards, it’s easy to overlook that MTV gives out actual awards during the show. Rihanna will receive the Video Vanguard Award, but Beyonce and Adele lead the nominee pack. Here’s the full rundown of the evening’s winners:

Song of the Summer

Fifth Harmony (featuring Fetty Wap) ”” “All in My Head (Flex)”
The Chainsmokers (featuring Halsey) ”” “Closer”
Drake (featuring Kyla and Wizkid) ”” “One Dance”
Selena Gomez ”” “Kill Em with Kindness”
Calvin Harris (featuring Rihanna) ”” “This Is What You Came For”
Nick Jonas (featuring Ty Dolla Sign) ”” “Bacon”
Kent Jones ”” “Don’t Mind”
Major Lazer (featuring Justin Bieber and MØ) ”” “Cold Water”
Sia ”” “Cheap Thrills”
Justin Timberlake ”” “Can’t Stop the Feeling!”

Best Hip-Hop Video

Drake ”” “Hotline Bling”
2 Chainz ”” “Watch Out”
Chance the Rapper (featuring Saba) ”” “Angels”
Desiigner ”” “Panda”
Bryson Tiller ”” “Don’t”

Best Male Video

Calvin Harris (featuring Rihanna) ”” “This Is What You Came For”
Drake – “Hotline Bling”
Bryson Tiller ”” “Don’t”
The Weeknd ”” “Can’t Feel My Face”
Kanye West ”” “Famous”

Also See  Watch Sayantika Ghosh’s Anime-Inspired Video For ‘Samurai’

Best Female Video

Beyoncé ”” “Hold Up”
Adele ”” “Hello”
Ariana Grande ”” “Into You”
Rihanna (featuring Drake) ”” “Work”
Sia ”” “Cheap Thrills”

Best Collaboration Video

Fifth Harmony (featuring Ty Dolla Sign) ”” “Work from Home”
Beyoncé (featuring Kendrick Lamar) ”” “Freedom”
Ariana Grande (featuring Lil Wayne) ”” “Let Me Love You”
Calvin Harris (featuring Rihanna) ”” “This Is What You Came For”
Rihanna (featuring Drake) ”” “Work”

Best New Artist

Zara Larsson
Lukas Graham
Bryson Tiller

Best Art Direction

David Bowie ”” “Blackstar” (Art Director: Jan Houllevigue)
Adele ”” “Hello” (Art Director: Colombe Raby)
Beyoncé ”” “Hold Up” (Art Director: Jason Hougaard)
Drake ”” “Hotline Bling” (Art Director: Jeremy MacFarlane)
Fergie ”” “M.I.L.F. $” (Art Director: Alexander Delgado)

Best Direction

Beyoncé ”” “Formation” (Director: Melina Matsoukas)
Adele ”” “Hello” (Director: Xavier Dolan)
David Bowie ”” “Lazarus” (Director: Johan Renck)
Coldplay ”” “Up&Up” (Directors: Vania Heymann and Gal Muggia)
Tame Impala ”” “The Less I Know the Better” (Director: Canada)

Best Editing

Beyoncé ”” “Formation” (Editor: Jeff Selis)
Adele ”” “Hello” (Editor: Xavier Dolan)
David Bowie ”” “Lazarus” (Editor: Johan Söderberg)
Fergie ”” “M.I.L.F. $” (Editor: Vinnie Hobbs)
Ariana Grande ”” “Into You” (Editor: Hannah Lux Davis)

Best Cinematography

Also See  #RSDailyMusic: Here’s What We’re Listening to Today

Beyoncé ”” “Formation” (Director of Photography: Malik Sayeed)
Adele ”” “Hello” (Director of Photography: André Turpin)
Alesso ”” “I Wanna Know” (Director of Photography: Corey Jennings)
David Bowie ”” “Lazarus” (Director of Photography: Crille Forsberg)
Ariana Grande ”” “Into You” (Director of Photography: Paul Laufer)

Video of the Year

Beyoncé ”” “Formation”
Adele ”” “Hello”
Justin Bieber ”” “Sorry”
Drake ”” “Hotline Bling”
Kanye West ”” “Famous”

Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award: Rihanna

Share this:

You Might also Like