Type to search

Home Flashbox New Music News & Updates

Mumbai Metallers Eargasm Release Melodramatic Debut Album ‘Life Cycle’

The five-piece outfit piece together personal narratives on their inaugural release

David Britto Mar 24, 2017
Share this:
1 (1)

Eargasm. Photo: Hitak Thakar/Snapshot Media

Since they started out in 2012, Mumbai metal band Eargasm have had quite a roller-coaster ride as far as lineups are concerned. The band was initially formed by vocalist Kanak Sirur to compete in college festivals but as the members got busy with studies and other commitments, Eargasm eventually split in 2013, only to get back together the next year. Currently, the outfit features Sirur, guitarists Amogh Tendulkar and Pratik Sapkale, bassist Mohammed Khan and drummer Bhargav Wadekar.

With teething troubles behind them, Eargasm have recently released their debut album, the six-track Life Cycle. Their last release was a single, titled “Let Me Die,” which came out in 2014 and is also featured on the album. Sirur counts heavy metal bands like Megadeth, Metallica and Iron Maiden as their idols. “Sonically, the biggest inspiration for the album is [Welsh heavy metallers] Bullet For My Valentine,” he adds.

Album Art_ Life Cycle Eargasm

‘Life Cycle’ album artwork by Sean Lobo

Life Cycle is a nearly autobiographical record, with each song representing a band member. “All the songs on the album are based on incidents or personal experience we’ve had,” says Sirur. While the opening song, “26/11,” is about the 2008 Mumbai terrorist attacks that affected each band member in a different way, “Believe” expresses guitarist Sapkale’s struggles with dealing with family pressure to give up music (fortunately, he didn’t succumb). “Anxiety” is about the band’s former rhythm guitarist Diganta Gogoi. “He had a crazy job. He used to work for almost 22 hours a day!” says Sirur. The last track on the record, “Rules,” chronicles guitarist Tendulkar’s relationship with alcohol and how the latter has been his constant companion through thick and thin.

Also See  Tamil-Swiss Artist Priya Ragu Signs to Warner Music U.K., Drops ‘Good Love 2.0’ Video

Life Cycle was recorded in 2016 at Mumbai-based producer Himonshu Parikh’s home studio. However, the post production was stalled for a few months due to lack of funds. The album was eventually mixed and mastered by Mumbai metallers bassist Jordan Veigas and guitarist Jason D’souza from alt rockers The Koniac Net. Eargasm have worked on music videos for all six songs, shot by Mumbai videographer Vishal Shekhar, which will be released shortly. They also plan to go on a multi-city gig tour starting April.

Click here to buy ”˜Life Cycle’ on OK Listen.

Share this:

You Might also Like