Type to search

Home Flashbox New Music News & Updates

New Indian Compilations Out Now: Electronic, Hip-Hop and More

Tune in to the latest from Bengaluru’s Consolidate Records, Gully Gang’s Shutdown, Azadi Records and more

Anurag Tagat Jul 14, 2020

A partial rundown of India's electronic music producers contributing to sample-based beat challenge 22-2, including OX7GEN, Zokhuma, Hashbass, Pardafash, Three Oscillators, Tarqeeb and more. Photos: Courtesy of 22-2

Gully Gang, Shutdown EP

Some of the best in the rap game get called on for what became Shutdown EP. Although it’s eight tracks, which puts it into album territory, the compilation features not just Mumbai rapper DIVINE’s label signees but also Mass Appeal India (and U.S.) hotsteppers – that includes Elvis Brown teaming up with MC Altaf and D’Evil for “Brinks,” 7Bantai’Z throwing down on the menacing “Bas Kya Ba,” with tropical production from Stunnah Beatz and Progression Music on “Bag,” for which DIVINE steps in with KR$NA. Punjabi rapper Sikander Kahlon steps in for a heavyweight collab like “Bandana Gang,” but it’s the young lot like Altaf and multilingual crew Aavrutti who shine on songs like “Alag Hain Disha” and “Nahi Pata,” making Shutdown a conviction-heavy showcase.

Various Artists, 22-2

22-2, sample-based beat challenge now has a two-part compilation out for its second iteration, to aid relief work for those affected by Cyclone Amphan in eastern India. In total, it features 44 Indian producers in volume two, including shapeshifting releases from the likes of OX7GEN, Noni-mouse, Akrti, Kone Kone, plus tunes that dig into an ethereal space, like Karshni, Cash and Sanoli Chowdhury. Founded by Bengaluru-based producer Oceantied aka Ketan Bahirat, the first volume of 22-2 had previously raised about Rs 15,000 for non-profit organization Goonj’s campaign to support daily wage earners.

Also See  Actor You Need to Know: Shin Min-a

Consolidate, FRNDS & FMLY ‘20

In the works for just about a year, Bengaluru record label Consolidate calls on their favorite artists from India and nearby for this year’s FRNDS & FMLY compilation. It arrives just about four years after the first compilation from the label and features not just electronic music producers such as Phatcowlee, Aniruddh Menon, Akrti and label founder _RHL aka Rahul Giri, but also singer-songwriter Jeevan Antony, Dubai singer-producer Zubin Aroz, the dark hypnotic energy of Pardafash and a dizzying beat and vocal attack from Disco Puppet.

Azadi Records, Sounds of Resistance Vol. 1

More gems released, unreleased and reworked have come forth from independent label Azadi Records on their new 32-track compilation Sounds of Resistance Vol. 1. Amongst well-received singles like the Seedhe Maut and Delhi Sultanate collab “Scalp Dem” and the party-starter that became 2018’s “Class-Sikh Maut Vol. II” with Seedhe Maut, Prabh Deep and Sez on the Beat, there’s also all-new tracks including the cutthroat “Guess I Gotta,” produced by Kerala-based So Fire with verses from rappers Shayan Roy, Tienas and Srinagar’s Ahmer. Also repping Kashmir is the relatively new signee Ali Saffudin, whose songs “Graduation Blues,” “Asaan Gindaan” and “Nisar Teri Galiyon Main” offer a glimpse of the future of the label’s intentions. Elsewhere, producers Rak and Tre Ess team up for the Tamil banger “Namma Street,” with an assist from DJ Uri and rappers Nigavithran (Chennai) and DBK (Sri Lanka), plus there’s Ahmer’s previously unreleased track with New Delhi producer Kreon, called “Ajeeb.” Stick through and you’ll even find a surprising inclusion of Singaporean rapper Yung Raja’s Tamil verses over Prabh Deep’s latest banger “Chitta.”

Also See  K-Drama Flashback: Lee Min-ho Stands on The Forbidden 'DMZ, The Wild'