Type to search

Home Flashbox New Music News & Updates

New Music: From New Delhi Post-Rock to Kolkata Electronica

This month, we round up the latest releases from across the country, including an exclusive stream of Bengaluru prog metal band Despite Earth’s debut single

Anurag Tagat Jul 22, 2016
Share this:

“Nature of a Fractured Self” by Despite Earth

Artwork for "Nature of a Fractured Self". Art: Butterfly Consciousness

Artwork for “Nature of a Fractured Self”. Art: Butterfly Consciousness


Bengaluru prog metal band Despite Earth, who came together in 2014, have released their bruising debut single, off their upcoming EP Apotheosis, due later this year. Although the new clean vocals take us by surprise, the obsidian riffs keep our ears pricked. The song, which was written in January last year and completed in April, was finally recorded when drummer Sange Wangchuk joined the band earlier this year. Although open to interpretation, the band ”“ also comprising guitarist Biswajit Misra, bassist Arunav Bhattacharjee and vocalist Siddhant Sarkar ”“ say the debut single is about a person whose essence is “denied due to the exclusion of any meaningful episode based on the diversity of life.” Go figure.


“Bedlam” by Zokova

Delhi instrumental/post-rock band Zokova, now comprising founder-guitarist Ritwik De, drummer Suyash Gabriel and bassist Amar Pandey [who joined last year], have released a new live video take of their song “Bedlam.” The eight-minute song ebbs and flows for the first five minutes, before breaking into a smoldering jam that keeps getting heavier, by the end of which Gabriel smashes his one of his cymbals straight off its stand.

Also See  Premiere: Indie Artist Peekay's Cheeky Relationship Song ‘You Don’t Have To’


I Eat You Eat Me by Preying Mantis

Glitchy synths, a smooth vocal presence that fights for space amidst the computerized chaos and club-friendly bass sums up Kolkata trio Preying Mantis. The experimental electro pop act, put together in 2015 by vocalist Priyanjana Pramanik and producers Subhagata Singha and Varun Kishore, features hints of live instruments such as bass and guitars, but stays rooted in electronica on their three-track debut EP I Eat You Eat Me. While “Butterfly” and “Diving Bell” features faster tempos, the deceptively-titled “Party” flows slower, with Pramanik’s dark voice contrast against dreamy synth lines.


“Full Throttle” by Kryptos

[youtube width=”640″ height=”360″]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YswLXyHdYk[/youtube]

“Only real metalheads allowed,” reads a sign next to a guarded door to what becomes a dingy, sweat-soaked “creepy basement” where Bengaluru old school metallers Krpytos kick out the jams to their new single “Full Throttle.” The fist-pump-friendly song, off their upcoming fourth full-length album Burn Up The Night [due out on September 23rd], comes just as the band heads out on their [now] annual Europe tour, performing all through July and August at clubs and festivals.


“A Family Get Together/We All Sing Together” by Taba Chake

[youtube width=”640″ height=”360″]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3g3flfL-7qA[/youtube]

Born and bred in the small town of Doimukh, east of Arunachal Pradesh’s capital of Itanagar, fingerstyle guitarist Taba Chake has turned to more singer-songwriter influences on his upcoming debut EP Bond With Nature. While he released a stop-motion video for his first single “Morning Sun” last month, Chake sings with a tinge of homesickness about family togetherness on his new single, in a simple sing-along two-minute tune. Now based in New Delhi, Chake released the CD version of the EP last week, while a digital launch is planned within the next two months.

Also See  This Is My Music: Second Sight


“Inherited Failure” by Plague Throat

[youtube width=”640″ height=”360″]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIrzH6V6v6U[/youtube]

Shillong death metallers Plague Throat give fans a glimpse of just how cutthroat their upcoming full-length album The Human Paradox will be. The hammering new song off the 10-track album, “Inherited Failure,” is mixed by and mastered by Mumbai sound engineer and bassist Ashwin Shriyan [from extreme metallers Demonic Resurrection] and is slated to release in September. The album is a follow-up to their no-holds-barred 2013 EP An Exordium to Contagion.

Share this:

You Might also Like