Type to search

Artists Home Flashbox Music News & Updates

Protocol, Thermal And A Quarter, Soulmate Lead Nominations For The Indies

The second edition of the award show has just announced the full list of nominees

Rolling Stone India Nov 29, 2021

Artists (from top left) Thermal And A Quarter, Soulmate and Protocol are nominated for a number of awards at the second edition of The Indies. Photos: Courtesy of the artists; Armaan Mishra (Thermal And A Quarter)

Share this:

Today, award show The Indies revealed the nominees for their second edition. One change to the format of the event comes with the elimination of the Artist of the Year category. In a statement, the organizers said, “We believe the guiding factors for the nomination process in 2019 did not hold weight due to the pandemic in 2020.”

Across 18 categories, Bengaluru rockers Thermal And A Quarter have picked up a whopping six nominations to their name for last year’s record A World Gone Mad. The band is up and running in categories such as Producer of the Year and Bassist of the Year (Leslie Charles), Album of the Year, Artwork of the Year, Rock Artist of the Year and Drummer of the Year (Rajeev Rajagopal).

Joining Thermal And A Quarter on six nominations is Mumbai prog-rock band Protocol while Shillong blues band Soulmate have their name in five categories. Composer Sandeep Chowta also finds himself with a cool five nominations across various categories at The Indies.

Other nominees include Mumbai-bred producer Sandunes, New Delhi hip-hop artist Prabh Deep, Ahmedabad guitarist Chirag Todi as well as electronic artist Bandish Projekt who is the only nominee to feature twice in the same category (Electronic Artist of the Year) and more. The Indies have also introduced two new categories for their second edition which include Folk Fusion Artist of the Year and Instrumental Artist of the Year and sees the likes of Bombay Bandook and Viveick Rajagopalan’s names in the hat for the former while Eashwar Subramanian and Celestial Teapot are among those bagging nominations in the latter.

Also See  Global Artists Spotlight: Cherry Lena, Tommy Lefroy, James Mantis And More

Winners for The Indies will be announced in December.

Full Nominees List below:

Producer of the Year
Anhad + TannerAnhad + TannerIn Other Words
Leslie CharlesThermal And A QuarterA World Gone Mad
Miti AdhikariFox in The GardenSunny Boy
Rachintan TrivediART’TMATharangini
Rahul KannanProtocolFriar’s Lantern
Rudy WallangSoulmateGive Love
Sandeep ChowtaRe-LaxmanRe-Laxman Vol. 2
SandunesSandunesSpare Some Time
Album / EP of the Year
Anhad + TannerIn Other Words
ProtocolFriar’s Lantern
Re-LaxmanRe-Laxman Vol. 1
SoulmateGive Love
Thermal And A QuarterA World Gone Mad
Song of the Year
Armaan MalikControl
Chirag TodiDesire feat. Pushkar Srivatsal & Tanya Nambiar
Inner SanctumDivided by Hate
Kamakshi KhannaQareeb
Prabh DeepChitta
Seedhe Maut, Karan KanchanDum Pishaach
Viveick RajagopalanNayya
Music Video of the Year
Ady ManralKaisey
Bombay BandookAzad
Inner SanctumDivided by Hate
Kamakshi KhannaQareeb
MaliAge of Limbo
Nothing AnonymousWaste Away
Prabh DeepChitta
Artwork of the Year
Corner Café ChroniclesRenaissance
ProtocolFriar’s Lantern
Sameer RahatAamad – Sameer Rahat
TejasThe Bombay Doors
Thermal And A QuarterA World Gone Mad
Rock Artist of the Year
Anand Bhaskar CollectiveMain Hoon Zameen
KarajimoLunar Howl
ProtocolFriar’s Lantern
SoulmateGive Love
Tanmaya BhatnagarKya Tum Naraaz Ho?
Thermal And A QuarterA World Gone Mad
Pop Artist of the Year
Chirag TodiDesire
Dhruv VisvanathWrite
Kamakshi KhannaQareeb
Sandeep Chowta & Peepal Tree560001
The Lightyears ExplodeMellow
Rap / Hip-Hop Artist of the Year
Bandish ProjektChithada
Brodha VFlex
HanumankindSurface Level
Prabh DeepChitta
Seedhe MautDum Pishaach
SwadesiShambhar Bars
Electronic / Dance Artist of the Year
Bandish ProjektHome Crowd
Bandish ProjektAabh Ma
OceantiedNostalgia EP
Siddhant PillaiRowdy (Remix)
Folk Fusion Artist of the Year
ART’TMAIravu Kuda Vaasamey
Anhad + TannerIn Other Words
Bombay BandookAzad
H S VenugopalVENU
Viveick RajagopalanNayya
Whale in the PondDofon
Instrumental Artist of the Year
A Mutual QuestionConnect
Celestial TeapotPerception
Eashwar SubramanianAcross The River
JatayuThoppai Vibes
Re-LaxmanRe-Laxman Vol. 1
Shreyas IyengarNever Leaving Home Again
Metal Artist of the year
Inner SanctumDivided by Hate
KillKountKonflict & Terror
SarfaadDog Days
Serpents of PakhangbaSerpents of Pakhangba
Yatin Srivastava ProjectAll We Ever Wanted Was Nothing
Male Vocalist of the year
Armaan MalikControl
Ali SaffudinAsaan-Gindaan
LojalFor Now
Prabh DeepChitta
Vasu Dixit (Swarathma)Mushkil Mein Jeena
ZaedenSocha Na Tha – Zaeden
Female Vocalist of the year
Aditi RameshSambar Soul
Chandana Bala Kalyan (Bandish Projekt)Panduranga
Kamakshi KhannaQareeb
Pavithra Chari (Shadow and Light)Yarum Illai
Tarana Marwah (Komorebi)Rebirth
Tipriti Kharbangar (Soulmate)Voodoo Woman
Guitarist of the Year
Abhay NayampallyYetto Velli Chapter One
Chirag TodiDesire
Ritwik Bhattacharya, Jyothish Mani (Pineapple Express)Relentless
Rudy Wallang (Soulmate)Still Loving You
Tony Das (Re-laxman)Three Four Shut The Door
Vishal J Singh (Serpents of Pakhangba)Headhunters
Drummer Of The Year
Fidel Deli Murrilo (Serpents of Pakhangba)Vultures
Gopi Shravan T S (Pineapple Express)Destiny
Jared Sandhy (Inner Sanctum)Divided by Hate
Manu Krishnan (Jatayu)Thoppai Vibes
Nachiket Karekar (Protocol)Dawn of Truth
Rajeev Rajagopal (TAAQ)Distance
Bassist Of The Year
Anthony Crawford (Re-Laxman Vol. 2)Winters Breath
Jagravi Rao (Bombay Bandook)Azad
Jayant Sankrityayana (Shreyas iyengar)Never Leaving Home Again
Leslie Charles (TAAQ)NFA
Manas Chowdhary (Serpents of Pakhangba)Vultures
Saurabh Suman (The Fanculos)Lady In Cement
Keyboardist Of The Year
Amarjit Prabhudesai (Bombay Bandook)Azad
DreamhourHow It Goes
Rahul Kannan (Protocol)Wait Until Tomorrow
Sandeep ChowtaVenu
Sandunes1759 (Outro)
Tarana Marwah (Komorebi)Rebirth

Share this:

You Might also Like