Type to search

Home Flashbox News & Updates Reviews

Radio City Freedom Awards 2018: The Complete Winners List

The fifth edition of the independent music awards honored the best in indie music, and saw performances by Maati Baani and Khasi Bloodz, among others

David Britto Mar 23, 2018

New Delhi singer-songwriter Prateek Kuhad accepting his award for Best Pop Artist (Jury's Choice). Photo: Anurag Tagat

Share this:

In the past five years, independent music in India has been put on a pedestal thanks to the Radio City Freedom Awards and that’s exactly what host Nirmika Singh (Executive Editor, Rolling Stone India) spoke about at the fifth edition of the event. Singh said, “We’ve come to a place where the lines between independent music and mainstream are blurring.”

Held at Glocal Junction, Worli, Mumbai, the awards honored the best talent on the indie circuit, from ViceVersa’s collaboration with Nagaland singers Vi Rie and Za Za taking home the Jury’s Choice Award for Best Electronica Artist to hardcore band Death By Fungi winning the People’s Choice Award for Best Metal Artist.

RCFA also gave out a few subsidiary awards, with the Best Video going to Bengaluru folk rockers Swarathma for their song “Beta Sweater Pehno” and Best Album Art to New Delhi’s Menwhopause while REProduce Artists’ Rana Ghose bagged the IndieGenius Person of the Year Award for his work on the Listening Room series of shows.

The night also witnessed performances by artists across genres, such as Mumbai rock band Sifar, Shillong-based hip-hop group Khasi Bloodz with a formidable live set, Mumbai world music outfit Maati Baani and Bhopal-based trap and bass artist Paranox, who also called ViceVersa frontman Rohit ”˜P-Man’ Pereira on for a song.

Also See  Adele Just Gave Us Back The Album Experience

Check out the complete winners list for Radio City Freedom Awards 2018 below:

Best Young Indie Artist – Stevie

Best Indie Collaboration – Ankur Tewari and Prateek Kuhad – Dil Beparwah

Best Album Art – Menwhopause – ”˜Neon Delhi’

Best Video – Swarathma – “Beta Sweater Pehno”

Jockey IndieGenius Person of the Year – Rana Ghose (REProduce Artists)

Radio City Freedom People’s Choice Awards:

Best Hip-Hop Artist – Emiway

Best Pop Artist – Sparsh

Best Rock Artist – Fireflood

Best Metal Artist – Death By Fungi

Best Electronica Artist – Skobra and Pash

Best Folk Fusion Artist – Pragnya Wakhlu

Radio City Freedom Jury’s Choice Awards:

Best Hip-Hop Artist – Brodha V

Best Pop Artist – Prateek Kuhad

Best Rock Artist – Parvaaz

Best Metal Artist – Tangents and The Minerva Conduct (tie)

Best Electronica Artist – ViceVersa

Best Folk Fusion Artist – Vasu Dixit

Share this:

You Might also Like