Type to search

Artists Home Flashbox News & Updates

The Country’s Top Names in The Independent Scene Battle It Out at The Inaugural Edition of Award Show The Indies

Nominees include Blackstratblues, Sid Sriram, Thaikkudam Bridge, Lifafa and more

Rolling Stone India Sep 28, 2020

Artists (from left) Warren Mendonsa, Sid Sriram and Lifafa are nominated for a number of awards at this year's The Indies. Photos: Swaraj Sriwastav; Chelsey Croucher; Monisha Ajgaonkar

Share this:

Earlier this year, Indian Independent musicians and fans of the scene were treated to good news away from the negativity brought upon due to the coronavirus pandemic. It was announced that a new award show called The Indies would take place digitally and that all artists who released music in 2019 were eligible for nominations over 17 categories.

Guitarist Warren Mendonsa’s Mumbai/New Zealand blues rock outfit Blackstratblues has a stellar eight nominations to their name for last year’s record When it’s Time. The band is up and running in categories such as Best Artist, Best Album and Best Rock Artist. The four-member band – which includes Mendonsa, drummer Jai Row Kavi, bassist Adi Mistry and keyboardist Beven Fonseca –  are also competing for individual awards in the Best Guitarist, Best Drummer and Best Keyboardist categories as well as Producer of the Year for their talisman Mendonsa and Best Artwork.

Other nominees include Kochi fusion rock/metal group Thaikkudam Bridge with six categories attached to their name and New Delhi vocalist-producer Suryakant Sawhney bagged a number of nominations for his work with his electronic project Lifafa and gypsy band Peter Cat Recording Company.

Amongst the frontrunners is also Indo-American musician Sid Sriram, Bengaluru rockers Thermal And A Quarter, Kolkata dream pop duo Parekh & Singh, hip-hop crew Swadesi, rapper Prabh Deep, singer-songwriter Karshni’s teaming with electro outfit Three Oscillators and more.

The results for The Indies will be decided by an internal jury and announced later this year. Stay tuned for updates.

Also See  #RSDailyMusic: Here’s What We’re Listening to Today

Full Nominees List below:


Artist of the Year
Parekh & Singh
Peter Cat Recording Company
Prabh Deep
Sid Sriram
Thaikkudam bridge


Best Rock Artist Best Pop Artist Best Rap/ Hip hop Artist Best Electronic Artist Best Metal Artist
Blackstratblues JBABE Ahmer x Sez On The Beat Aqua Dominatrix Dymbur
Gauley Bhai Karshni and Three Oscillators Arivu x ofRO Jamblu Haiku-Like Imagination
Parvaaz Parekh & Singh Kaam Bhaari Lifafa Maneating Orchid
Peter Cat Recording Company Shubhangi Joshi Collective Prabh Deep Pulpy Shilpy Pacifist
Sarathy Korwar Sid Sriram Seedhe Maut Riatsu X Neil Gomes Prophets of Yahweh
Thaikkudam bridge Vaisakh Somanath Swadesi Your Chin Trancemigrate
The F16s
Artist/Band Name Album/EP of the Year
Bandish Projekt and Swadesi Khulle Naagde
Blackstratblues When It’s Time
Lifafa Jaago
Parekh & Singh Science City
Peter Cat Recording Company Bismillah
Sarathy Korwar More Arriving
Sid Sriram Entropy
Thaikkudam bridge NAMAH


Artist/Band Name Song of the Year
Arivu x ofRo Kalla Mouni
Aswekeepsearching Rooh 
Karshni and Three Oscillators Drowning
Lifafa Nikamma
Seedhe Maut and Delhi Sultanate Scalp Dem
Swadesi The Warli Revolt
Parvaaz Soye Ja
Thermal And A Quarter Leaders of Men


Artist/Band Name Music Video of the Year 
Ahmer x Sez On The Beat Little Kid Big Dreams – Kasheer
Fopchu Chapel O Fopalop
Marshall Sachin Hit By The Gravity
Parekh & Singh Science City – Summer Skin
Your Chin Luv Important


Artist Artwork of the Year: Album/EP/Song Name
Ritviz DEV, by Santanu Hazarika
Shubhangi Joshi Collective Babelfish, by Annada Menon
Ady Manral Talk, by Ghost Animation
Black Letters Still As You, by Noopur Choksi
Blackstratblues When It’s Time, by Arjun Rajkishore at Arkwerk
Dymbur The Legend of Thraat, by Visual Amnesia
Karsh Kale ft Komorebi Disappear, by Archan Nair
Also See  Global Artists Spotlight: Eli Manna, Ebony Buckle, Joshua Crumbly And More


Album / EP / Song Producer of the Year
FLESH by Aqua Dominatrix Akshay Rajpurohit
Rooh by Aswekeepsearching Aswekeepsearching and Ritwik De
Khulle Naagde by Swadesi and Bandish Projekt Mayur Narvekar
When It’s Time by Blackstratblues Warren Mendonsa
Play The Piano Drunk Like A Percussion Instrument Until The Fingers Begin To Bleed A Bit by JBABE Harshan Radhakrishnan
Slough by Pulpy Shilpy Gowri Jayakumar
More Arriving by Sarathy Korwar Sarathy Korwar


Best Male Vocalist of the Year
Khalid Ahamed (Parvaaz)
Sid Sriram
Vaisakh Somanath


Best Female Vocalist of the Year
Abhilasha Sinha
Hanita Bhambri 
Shubhangi Joshi Collective


Artist/Band Name Guitarist of the Year
Haiku-Like Imagination Sucheth Ramprasad and Soorya Praveen
Blackstratblues Warren Mendonsa
Samar Mehdi Samar Mehdi
Takar Nabam Takar Nabam
Thermal And A Quarter Bruce Lee Mani


Artist/Band Name Bassist of the Year
Thaikkudam Bridge Vian Fernandes
Heat Sink Raag Sethi
Smalltalk Yohann Coutinho
Thermal And A Quarter Leslie Charles


Artist/Band Name Drummer of the Year
Haiku-Like Imagination Aniketh Ashok
Blackstratblues Jai Row Kavi
Pineapple Express Gopi Shravan
Thaikkudam bridge Anish TN
Thermal And A Quarter Rajeev Rajagopal


Artist/Band Name Keyboardist of the Year
Blackstratblues Beven Fonseca
Flaw & Order  Sudharsan Krishnakumar
Heat Sink Nayan Kapadiya
Shubhangi Joshi Collective Nishant Nair
Thaikkudam bridge Ruthin Thej


Share this:

You Might also Like