Type to search

Artists Home Flashbox K-pop Music New Music News & Updates Videos

Twice Welcome the Summer of Love in ‘Alcohol-Free’

The track serves as the lead single off the group’s 10th EP, ‘Taste of Love’

Divyansha Dongre Jun 09, 2021
Share this:

South Korean hitmakers Twice return with “Alcohol-Free”– a playful, refreshing track which serves as the lead single of their 10th EP, Taste of Love.

Produced by JYP Entertainment founder J.Y. Park, “Alcohol-Free” is a multi-genre track that showcases Twice’s vocal versatility. An amalgamation of bossa nova and hip-hop, the single captures the initial stages of love, describing it as an intoxicating feeling. 

Keeping the summer aesthetics intact, the music video for “Alcohol-Free” unravels on colorful, bohemian sets that mimic a tropical vacation. The clip opens with TWICE’s lead vocalist, Nayeon lounging beside a beach-side bar singing, “When I am with you/ Something magical happens.” The chorus ropes in an addictive Latin pop groove with members, Sana, Momo, and Jihyo comparing their love interest with popular cocktails: “You are my champagne, my wine I drink with my eyes/ My tequila, margarita/ Mojito with lime / Sweet mimosa, piña colada/ I’m drunk in you (I’m drunk in you).” 

Rappers Dahyun and Chaeyoung elevate the mood of the track during the bridge with the verse, “Alcohol percentage is completely 0.0% / But I get lost whenever I drink…/Easy to the mouth and tummy/ Like a drink made of honey.” The music video concludes with the girls coming together by the poolside, this time during a starry night, with the skies painted by the gleaming colors of a firework display. 

Also See  Goa Singer-Songwriter Earl Fortes Releases Breezy New Single ‘Laid Back’

Set to release on June 11th, TWICE’s 10th EP Taste of Love boasts seven tracks, including the lead single “Alcohol-Free” and the English version of their 2020 song, “Cry For Me.” Other tracks include “Scandal” and “SOS” written by Dahyun, “Conversation” written by Sana, “Baby Blue Love” written by Nayeon and “First Time” written by TWICE’s leader, Jihyo. “First Time” was also co-composed by Little Mix’s Jade Thirlwall along with Rick Parkhouse, George Tizzard and Sophie ‘Frances’ Cooke.  

Share this:

You Might also Like