Type to search

Home Flashbox K-pop Music New Music News & Updates

TWICE’s Nayeon is Confident and Ebullient in Solo Track, ‘Pop’

The single marks the South Korean singer-songwriter and Twice member’s official solo debut

Divyansha Dongre Jun 24, 2022

Twice's Nayeon. Photo: Courtesy fo JYP Entertainment

Following a successful American stadium tour alongside fellow TWICE members, 26-year-old singer-songwriter Nayeon is all set to give her fans a slice of her unique artistic colors with her official solo EP, I’m Nayeon. Led by the single “Pop,” the seven-track record marks Nayeon’s solo debut, making her the first TWICE member to release an official solo album.

Written by Lee Seu Ran, Kenzie, Hayden Chapman, Greg Bonnick and Ellen Berg, “Pop” is a blast from the past with its retro-pop-inspired soundscape. Meshing various sonic elements like drums, saxophone and synth to name a few, the production underlines Nayeon’s bright, delicate vocals as she sings about the exhilarating feelings of love, passion and desires: ” You cannot get away from me/ The twitch in your eyes/ Your nervous gestures, baby/ I want to pop you,” she sings. The track’s theme of romance delivered in a bubblegum pop production is an instant call-out to TWICE’s established sonic identity, which continues to explore similar styles and stories. While the track definitely feels like a continuation of TWICE’s discography, Nayeon embodies the track wholeheartedly with a groovy, luscious vocal performance, making it her own. 

The music video is a picturesque dreamland with a bubbly Nayeon presenting her dimples in full display – executing breezy choreographed moves from one colorful set to another. Marked by props such as balloons and bubbles, the music video brims a summery landscape with Nayeon concluding the video on a glittering stage accompanied by an army of dancers matching her soaring energy levels.

Also See  Why MAMADOL is Integral to the K-pop Industry

I’m Nayeon also features Stray Kids rapper and label-mate Felix and South Korean rapper Wonstein on “No Problem” and “Love Countdown” respectively. Other tracks include “CandyFloss,” “All or Nothing,” “Happy Birthday To You” and “Sunset.”


You Might also Like